Tell Me More


What are the Elections?

The Student Union Elections take place each year, to elect your student representatives for the year ahead. This section of the website will update throughout the election period, with details of the positions available and how to stand for them, the candidates nominated and of course how to vote online, so keep checking back for more information!

Frequently Asked Questions

Key Dates

Important dates for your diary

  • 13 February 2018

    Nominations Open

    Now is your opportunity to nominate yourself for any of the positions.
    Click here to nominate yourself.

  • 28 February 2018

    Nominations Close

    Sorry! You're too late to nominate yourself.If you have handed in a nomination form, make sure you attend the Candidates Briefing today at 2:00pm.

  • 06 March 2018

    Candidate Question Time

    Our Sabbatical candidates go head-to-head answering your questions. 6:00pm, Zeros.

    Click here to submit a question.

  • 07 March 2018

    Voting Open

    Here...We...Go! Voting opens at 8:00am for you to select who you would like representing you.

  • 09 March 2018

    Voting Closed

    And... we're finished! Voting has now closed for the elections. Stay tuned to find out who our winners are, or join us at the Results Party from 6:00pm at Three Sisters, 139 Cowgate.

  • Make
    Your Voice

The Positions

Find out more about the positions available.


Positions that are greyed out are not currently open for election - but you can click on the role to understand what it involves and find out when it is usually elected.


Fill in the form below to nominate yourself for a position. This form must be submitted by 12:00pm, Wednesday 28th February 2018.

You have selected an Executive role. If you wish, you can select a second remit that you would like to be considered for should you not be successful in winning the election for your first choice.

If you have been subject to Recall in the past two academic years please speak to the Deputy Returning Officer before submitting your nomination form

Contact Us

Got a question about the Elections or the election process?

Deputy Returning Officer

The Deputy Returning Officer (DRO) is responsible for overseeing and coordinating the elections within the Student Union and Sports Union. There are rules set out in Section 5 of our Bye Laws which you can read here.

Denise McCaig

Student Engagement Manager & Deputy Returning Officer

0131 451 5333

Email Denise


To make a complaint about the way in which the elections are being managed or about the conduct of one or more candidates please complete the Complaint Form and return to the Deputy Returning Officer.

The National Union of Students is overseeing the conduct of the elections. The Deputy Returning Officer will refer all serious matters that could result in expulsion of a Candidate to NUS.

Download Complaint Form