text onlybeta

Student Elections 2014

Elections 2014

The results are in! Click the link on the left to see who you have voted as your Officer Team for 2014 / 15.

Important Dates

Nominations Open 18th February 2014
Nominations Close 28th February 2014
Voting Opens 9am, 5th March 2014
Voting Closes 5pm, 7th March 2014

Election Guidance

Below is the link to download the Election Rules & Guidance.

Election Rules & Guidance 2014 (PDF)

Example Manifestos

Here is a list of example manifestos that some candidates have produced in the past.

Mike Ross, President

Liam Burns, President

Laura Gregson, Vice-President

Mairi Farquharson, Executive

Rosie McConville, Halls Officer

Why do we hold elections?

We use democratic elections to choose the people that will represent you while you study at HW.

The Student Officers range from Sabbatical Officers who either run for election at the end of their studies, or who take a year out from studying to work full-time for a year, through to part-time officers who volunteer with The Union whilst continuing their studies. They work for you on all issues to do with student life. They listen to how you want things to be done and work with the relevant people to make it happen.

They represent your views to the University and local and national decision makers to ensure your voices are heard. Any student at Heriot-Watt can run for a position, although some positions are campus based (i.e. Scottish Borders Campus President is only open to students studying at the Scottish Borders Campus).

If you would like more information on any aspect of the Elections, you can contact Gail Edwards (Chief Executive Officer) on G.Edwards@hw.ac.uk.